How Kickboxing Was A Much Needed Kick

IMG_3153

After weeks of talking about it, my friend Diana and I finally signed up for a kickboxing class. That Monday we made our way to a gym called Excelsior in Motion down by Hermosa Beach. We had signed up for the 7:45 AM class with Michael and had no idea what to expect.

What should have been a warning sign was when two perfectly toned girls walked in shortly after us. It began innocent enough, with a light jog around the gym, until we reached the bear crawls and mountain climbers. Taking into account I hadn’t legitimately worked out since graduating college, I was dying.

When we finished our “warm up,” we started working with the bags. Michael was kind enough to take us aside to teach us the basics and it was great that he was able to give us one on one attention. However, the class did not get any easier. Michael had us rotate between hitting the bags and running laps. I’ll save time (and face) by summing it all up: our kickboxing experience was ultimately a fail.

But, I left the gym with a few lessons learned. For one, I was really out of shape and secondly, I really wanted to be able to return. I know now that I have a ways to go before I can commit to something as intensive a workout as kickboxing. But, now I’m more determined to get myself into shape.

IMG_3170

To cope with having our butts handed back to us, we decided to reward ourselves with a healthy treat. We walked a few blocks down to Hermosa Beach where we treated ourselves to some delicious acai at Paradise Bowls. I decided on the Gaucho Bowl: a blend of acai, strawberries, blueberries, bananas, apple juice topped with some banana, strawberries, blueberries, goji berries, granola, and honey.

IMG_3184

IMG_3179

Afterwards, we stopped by Paciugo’s for some gelattes. It was my first time trying a gelato + latte combo but my goodness did they know what they were doing. My latte was flavored with a fresh scoop of hazelnut gelato. And here I thought that coffee couldn’t get any better. Coffee + Gelato. Genius.

IMG_3190

After recounting our defeat over delicious acai bowls and yummy coffee, we made our way back up the hill to our cars.

IMG_3194

A cute Mexican-themed garden display we came across on our walk.

IMG_3198

I wasn’t joking when I said that getting my butt whooped in kickboxing motivated me to get back into shape. Shortly upon returning home, I took my dogs Ginger (left; holding my car keys) and Angel for a walk in the park. The rest of the morning was spent chasing squirrels and crows much to their enjoyment.

Overall, not a bad start to a week.

Leave a Reply

